My ASEAN Free GPS Map Project

Free Galactio, Garmin, iGO Primo, Papago and Polnav map for Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia and Thailand
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:36 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Forum rules


1. Be nice to each other and respect the moderators. Post in normal font size, color and weight. Follow Nettiquette
2. NO out of topic. Discuss about GPS device only
3. NO abuse, profanity and insults
4. NO spamming, cross posting and opening of duplicate topics
5. NO advertisement post or link
6. NO post/link to warez, cracks, serials or illegally obtained copyrighted content
7. Each message posted is owned by and is the opinion of the original poster. Neither mfm nor its owner or moderators are legally responsible for anything posted on the forum




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 494 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 50  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 118
Location: PJ, Selangor (nüvi® 205, nüvi® 1350, PAPAGO! X5 iPhone)
This the reply i just get from Garmin.
Quote:
Dear CH,

Thanks for contacting GARMIN corp.

1. The software of nuvi1350 and nuvi255w are quite different. As for nuvi765, 14xx and 13xx do not show POI icons in navigation mode as this feature would affect the calculation speed. Papago has cooperated with MFM, so Garmin is not going to take MFM into consideration at the moment.

2. About searching and saving probelm you stated, I have passed the message to our relevant department. They will have a further check on this issue.

Thank you for your patience in advance.

When replying to this message please be sure to include all previous correspondences.

Best regards,

Denise Ting
Marketing Dept, GARMIN Corp.
Add: No. 68, Jhangshu 2nd Road, Sijhih, Taipei County 221, Taiwan
Tel: 02-2642-8999 Ext: 6866



Top
 Profile  
 

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor
 

 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 118
Location: PJ, Selangor (nüvi® 205, nüvi® 1350, PAPAGO! X5 iPhone)
silverbeauty wrote:
Bro chew85, my tip to you, Garmin entertains only feedbacks on issues with their products ONLY. Any other maps, having problem they will not entertain .... ](*,)

So have you tried using their Garmin NT maps if yours is localized unit ?


Yes i tried, it had the same problem and it look so ugly and not updated! Some road name still is wrong, even i had tell MSM's mapper 1 year ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 175
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Guys, please bear in mind what silverbeauty said and be wiser. MFM map in effect competes with Garmin's own map or those officially associated with Garmin. So, Garmin is not going to bother if there is a problem using MFM map on their device. In fact, I would go so far as to say that Garmin might even be happier still if only their official maps map can work properly on their device.

That is why Garmin says politely: "Garmin is not going to take MFM into consideration at the moment".

This was also the case when MSM maps had issues, at the time before MSM became associated with Garmin.

So, if you have an issue with MFM map on Garmin devices, it is best to check the same with an official Garmin map. Then report the problem as something encountered with your official Garmin map, and not your MFM map or other map which you created. Otherwise, if some crazy guy at Garmin realises that this is a potential weak point for MFM, and they decide to exploit it, they may not only not help to solve the issue but make it worse for all makers of unofficial maps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:07 pm
Posts: 5
Hey guys.. just got my nuvi 1350... i found out where the maps are saved...
Now the default maps are stored in a hidden .system folder... unlike previous versions of nuvi they have changed the directories to be more organised...

But u don't need to mess with that .system folder...

Just put additional maps into X:\Map\
and POI into X:\Map\POI\

*if the folder mentioned don't exist, create them.

hope that helps... 8-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:26 pm
Posts: 11
silverbeauty wrote:
PcWork wrote:
1350 got one majour draw back compare to 255 leh. IF 255. i can view map of my favourite then i can select places nearby to places saved in my favourite . let say i not sure what adderess that is. or sometime cannot search. i view my fav. then i view map. scroll it around. and then point to the certain point and can click go. but in 1350. cannot do that. when i view FAV. in the map. no matter how i click. the mouse cursor won't come out. and it just fix to the fav i added.

for example. i wanna go desa petaling. nearby to mid valley. i access menu by fav. then see midvalley or i search for mid valley in POI.
then i view the map BUT I CANNOT select other places in the map. it fixed to view midvalley as center only. even when i zoom in / out oso, although i had scrolled to other places. it will zoom as midvalley in center.


and the 1350 actually hang 3 time when i try to zoom the map out so that i can point singapore and surf around singapore road and KL road

how to fix that ah..
i really need the feature. because sometimes. my friend house doens't spell the same as in the garmin. so i need to manually scroll it over to their place and select a point to save in fav. so i will need to search some petrol station near their place. and manually scroll it over to their house.
but 1350 CANNOT do that..


Bro PcWork, out of curiosity, is yours a localized unit with official Garmin NT maps loaded. If so, does this happen with Official Garmin NT maps or it is unique to MFM maps only ?


my set is Malaysia AEON set.
come with malsingmap and i installed MFM map on it. MSM SUCKS Big time.
but the problem i stated. is occur in BOTH map. no matter MSM or MFM.


and i had email them 2 days ago. and i get a reply from garmin today morning..
Quote:
Thank you for contacting Garmin Europe.

I am happy to help you. Unfortunately there isn't a way to to type in
manually a route from the Points of Interest or Favourites menu only
from the View Map screen as you have described. If you know the postcode
or road name of your destination you can navigate to this location
without using the cursor to select your destination.

If there is anything else I can help you with then please let me know.
Alternatively you can search for a solution here: http://www.garmin.co.uk/support


Kind regards,

Nicola Stead



imho this is VERY stupid. because it doesn't work with malaysia road name which isn't english. some road were spell differently. some road were even named differently. and some road DOESN"T HAVE A NAME. how on earth shall i point to the road then?

garmin action that prohibits manual input of destination from POI / Fav actually inhibits us to actually nagivate to there. infact most of the time when i search my friend house. i am rely on manual input of specific point.
SUCKS..i really miss my 255W. shouldn't had upgraded it.
DAMN REGRET.


I Had just replied the email.
Quote:
that is very inconvenient, as i had upgrade from garmin 255W to this garmin 1350. in-fact most of the time i will rely on the feature of manual input. as i am from malaysia, malaysia road isn't spell english, it is in malay. further more some road stated on MALSINGMAP for garmin is wrong. that actually makes most malaysian user unable to search for the road name. and there's a lot of road that without a name in garmin map especially some off road / minor road. is there a way of firmware update to enable the cursor at map when view POI / FAV? since VIEW MAP can have a cursor, why it isn't enable in POI / FAV? just as how they enable the touch screen calibration feature in firmware update by 14th december.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 175
Location: East Coast, Singapore
PcWork wrote:
imho this is VERY stupid. because it doesn't work with malaysia road name which isn't english. some road were spell differently. some road were even named differently. and some road DOESN"T HAVE A NAME. how on earth shall i point to the road then?

garmin action that prohibits manual input of destination from POI / Fav actually inhibits us to actually nagivate to there. infact most of the time when i search my friend house. i am rely on manual input of specific point.
SUCKS..i really miss my 255W. shouldn't had upgraded it.
DAMN REGRET.


If the Nuvi 1350/1460 does not allow you to use cursor to point to a location and navigate there, and insists on navigating only to a road that is listed in the map, then I agree IT SUCKS BIG TIME. What a joke. Which is why I say that with every upgrade, the Nuvi seems to get worse. Luckily, I still have my GMXT. So, I guess we should grab the Nuvi 2xx or 7xx instead?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:26 pm
Posts: 11
tks wrote:
If the Nuvi 1350/1460 does not allow you to use cursor to point to a location and navigate there, and insists on navigating only to a road that is listed in the map, then I agree IT SUCKS BIG TIME. What a joke. Which is why I say that with every upgrade, the Nuvi seems to get worse. Luckily, I still have my GMXT. So, I guess we should grab the Nuvi 2xx or 7xx instead?


i had got their reply. and i am truly sad and disappointed with their style of producing the product. in the end. customers convinient weren't at their consideration. i can't help but felt i was left alone, helpless and they won't even trying to help me. I do strongly feel that i was very wrong that i buy their product without doing proper research and survey. I blame myself very much with deep regret that i solely believe their product quality is proportional with the model, the higher the model, the better it is..

here's quote of reply from GARMIN :

Quote:
Thank you for contacting Garmin Europe.

I am happy to help you. We do not own the mapping. The routable data we
use in this product is from NAVTEQ, a respected map data vendor, often
regarded as the overall best in the business. NAVTEQ updates and
improves their maps all the time.

We continuously update our mapping products, changes occur all the times
and therefore by the time we publish a product one can surely find
discrepancies with the current street situation.

If you find any errors within the mapping database, we can get this sent
directly to the map makers. Please can you go to the following link and
fill in an error report form.
This will be sent directly to our map makers who will be able to look
into this for you.
http://www.garmin.com/cartography/mapSo ... rForm.html

I will pass your comments on but unfortunately the cursor on the
favourites and POI menus is not a feature available on the Nüvi 1350.

If there is anything else I can help you with then please let me know.
Alternatively you can search for a solution here: http://www.garmin.co.uk/support


Kind regards,

Nicola Stead


So now, garmin doesn't even think of improving 1350 because anything to do with map / navigation, they will blame the mapping company..
but they don't know the situation that some road in malaysia DOESN"T HAVE A ROAD NAME.

i was so disappointing that my friend told me his address, and i end up very busy click here and there in the 1350, yet i cannot set location of his house. i try to search again and again in POI / Address but couldn't get it.. then i try to scroll around in "view map" but the 1350 DOESN"T SHOW THE ROAD NAME, no matter at what level i zoom in and zoom out... it's a seriously BAD experience.. i had used garmin for past 6 month. but i end up busy 30 minute cannot set a location..

I feel i was a donkey that i trusted them by the fact 255W is very impressive. so upgrade model must be even more impressive.. but i am seriously regret.

to any one who wanna buy 1350, be advice, try to ask the sales person to show u how to manually click in an address that you cannot search. and compare it to 255W.
i am pretty sure you will know what i am talking about.
that feature is a MUST in malaysia especially a lot of road will just being labeled as "ROAD" because there's no road sign on the road itself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can Garmin USA units be used in Malaysia?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:19 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Garmin nuvi 1350T
I am currently using Garmin nuvi 1350T bought from us.. and having problem in map.. i already copy gmapsupp.img file to my nuvi, but still the POI didnot appear when i am navigating.. sorry, newbie here.. help please~ :cry: :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:56 pm
Posts: 118
Location: PJ, Selangor (nüvi® 205, nüvi® 1350, PAPAGO! X5 iPhone)
garmin's after sales service is damn shit~! :fire:

and garmin's future model is seriously no good, many function is been disable. :frus: Should be bought the old 255W, which is cheap and full function.

To all MFM mate, please think twice when you buy the garmin NEW MODELS~!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nuvi 1350
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 6:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 175
Location: East Coast, Singapore
PcWork wrote:
i was so disappointing that my friend told me his address, and i end up very busy click here and there in the 1350, yet i cannot set location of his house. i try to search again and again in POI / Address but couldn't get it.. then i try to scroll around in "view map" but the 1350 DOESN"T SHOW THE ROAD NAME, no matter at what level i zoom in and zoom out... it's a seriously BAD experience.. i had used garmin for past 6 month. but i end up busy 30 minute cannot set a location..

I feel i was a donkey that i trusted them by the fact 255W is very impressive. so upgrade model must be even more impressive.. but i am seriously regret.

to any one who wanna buy 1350, be advice, try to ask the sales person to show u how to manually click in an address that you cannot search. and compare it to 255W.
i am pretty sure you will know what i am talking about.
that feature is a MUST in malaysia especially a lot of road will just being labeled as "ROAD" because there's no road sign on the road itself.


Instead of trying to put the cursor on a un-named road/location via "Favourites", can you do so via "View Map" or "Browse Map"? Here, I am assuming you want to "point" the cursor at a particular location so as to navigate to that "point" from your current location.

As for setting location, it is possible but I took a long time to do it. But I am not familiar with the unit and had it only for about 15 mins. Since you have the device, you should be able to do it once you know how to. Here, by "set location", I am referring to the situation of GPS off/simulation mode on, and you want to manually shift the location of your vehicle to a new location.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 494 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 50  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group