My ASEAN Free GPS Map Project

Free Galactio, Garmin, iGO Primo, Papago and Polnav map for Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia and Thailand
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:01 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Forum rules


1. Be nice to each other and respect the moderators. Post in normal font size, color and weight. Follow Nettiquette
2. NO out of topic. Discuss about GPS in mobile devices only
3. NO abuse, profanity and insults
4. NO spamming, cross posting and opening of duplicate topics
5. NO advertisement post or link
6. NO post/link to warez, cracks, serials or illegally obtained copyrighted content
7. Each message posted is owned by and is the opinion of the original poster. Neither mfm nor its owner or moderators are legally responsible for anything posted on the forum




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:53 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 3422
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3
vikmel99 wrote:


Hi silverbeauty,

I saved the file name GMAPSUPP.IMG file into the [SD Card\GARMIN] folder, it seen no work even i restart my phone..

Help, pls advice. Thanks



Delete file in SD card and redownload a fresh copy and reinstall into sd card/garmin


Top
 Profile  
 

Support Our Sponsor

Support Our Sponsor
 

 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:03 am
Posts: 18
silverbeauty wrote:
vikmel99 wrote:


Hi silverbeauty,

I saved the file name GMAPSUPP.IMG file into the [SD Card\GARMIN] folder, it seen no work even i restart my phone..

Help, pls advice. Thanks



Delete file in SD card and redownload a fresh copy and reinstall into sd card/garmin


What you mean "Redownload" and reinstall? do i need to use any software to install the map into my A10?

What i did is, i just connect my A10 with my PC used the USB cable then i drag the file into the SD card Folder name "Garmin", it is wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:57 am
Posts: 31
not /sdcard

create map folder in /storage

you can name your map anything.img

the full path should be /storage/map/my_map.img

then go to setting, navigation
press menu button
select map info

select your map, unselect map you don't want.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:03 am
Posts: 18
badai wrote:
not /sdcard

create map folder in /storage

you can name your map anything.img

the full path should be /storage/map/my_map.img

then go to setting, navigation
press menu button
select map info

select your map, unselect map you don't want.


Thank badai,

So.. The the Garmin cannot access the map thru Sd Card?

i checked my phone current map's path is /storage/.system/gmapbmap.img

no similiar to your path as /storage/map/my_map.img

y?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:57 am
Posts: 31
my best guess is less than 20 people in the world will know why the stock map is in one location, and why you can put other map in another location.

so my only suggestion is go google for garmin's e-mail adress and ask them this philosophical question.

the rest of use just care if it would work.

vikmel99 wrote:
badai wrote:
not /sdcard

create map folder in /storage

you can name your map anything.img

the full path should be /storage/map/my_map.img

then go to setting, navigation
press menu button
select map info

select your map, unselect map you don't want.


Thank badai,

So.. The the Garmin cannot access the map thru Sd Card?

i checked my phone current map's path is /storage/.system/gmapbmap.img

no similiar to your path as /storage/map/my_map.img

y?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:45 am
Posts: 111
vikmel99 wrote:
silverbeauty wrote:
vikmel99 wrote:


Hi silverbeauty,

I saved the file name GMAPSUPP.IMG file into the [SD Card\GARMIN] folder, it seen no work even i restart my phone..

Help, pls advice. Thanks



Delete file in SD card and redownload a fresh copy and reinstall into sd card/garmin


What you mean "Redownload" and reinstall? do i need to use any software to install the map into my A10?

What i did is, i just connect my A10 with my PC used the USB cable then i drag the file into the SD card Folder name "Garmin", it is wrong?


@vikmel
Just to confirm
- Did u download & install the .EXE/.ZIP file with no problem? either way; re-download a fresh file just in case there's a possible corruption with the file you downloaded
- Did u extract the gmapsupp.img file from the ZIP or did u just rename the .ZIP file to gmapsupp.img instead? Because if u just rename from the ZIP file instead of extract the IMG file from the ZIP file then you hve problems.
- You can also save the GMAPSUPP.img file inside the [SD CARD\MAP] folder and use ANY Name (as long as its abt 8-characters and ends with .img. Example; thailand.img, mexico.img, austrlia.img, samerica.img). I forgot whether longer file name can or not. I usually go for 8-char limit to be safe.

if not... read this forum thread from start page-1 all over again :)

_________________
================================
SonyEricsson Xperia X1 / Garmin Asus A10
================================
Garmin Nuvi 255w (KL/SG Edition)
================================
Garmin Dakota 20 (ROM v.3.50)
================================


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:03 am
Posts: 18
@vikmel
Just to confirm
- Did u download & install the .EXE/.ZIP file with no problem? either way; re-download a fresh file just in case there's a possible corruption with the file you downloaded

Yes, all file i download is xxxxx.zip

- Did u extract the gmapsupp.img file from the ZIP or did u just rename the .ZIP file to gmapsupp.img instead? Because if u just rename from the ZIP file instead of extract the IMG file from the ZIP file then you hve problems.

Yes, i extract the file and named gmapsupp.img

- You can also save the GMAPSUPP.img file inside the [SD CARD\MAP] folder and use ANY Name (as long as its abt 8-characters and ends with .img. Example; thailand.img, mexico.img, austrlia.img, samerica.img). I forgot whether longer file name can or not. I usually go for 8-char limit to be safe.

I had saved the file gmapsupp.img into the SDcard\Map folder, when i used the Garmin, the map cannot show in the check list.

if not... read this forum thread from start page-1 all over again :)[/quote]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 10
vikmel99 wrote:
@vikmel
Just to confirm
- Did u download & install the .EXE/.ZIP file with no problem? either way; re-download a fresh file just in case there's a possible corruption with the file you downloaded

Yes, all file i download is xxxxx.zip

- Did u extract the gmapsupp.img file from the ZIP or did u just rename the .ZIP file to gmapsupp.img instead? Because if u just rename from the ZIP file instead of extract the IMG file from the ZIP file then you hve problems.

Yes, i extract the file and named gmapsupp.img

- You can also save the GMAPSUPP.img file inside the [SD CARD\MAP] folder and use ANY Name (as long as its abt 8-characters and ends with .img. Example; thailand.img, mexico.img, austrlia.img, samerica.img). I forgot whether longer file name can or not. I usually go for 8-char limit to be safe.

I had saved the file gmapsupp.img into the SDcard\Map folder, when i used the Garmin, the map cannot show in the check list.

if not... read this forum thread from start page-1 all over again :)
[/quote]

vikmel99,

Create a directory name map in your storage card. When you do dir on your storage card you will see a map folder. Then you copy the img file inside the map folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:03 am
Posts: 18
atomic wrote:
vikmel99 wrote:
@vikmel
Just to confirm
- Did u download & install the .EXE/.ZIP file with no problem? either way; re-download a fresh file just in case there's a possible corruption with the file you downloaded

Yes, all file i download is xxxxx.zip

- Did u extract the gmapsupp.img file from the ZIP or did u just rename the .ZIP file to gmapsupp.img instead? Because if u just rename from the ZIP file instead of extract the IMG file from the ZIP file then you hve problems.

Yes, i extract the file and named gmapsupp.img

- You can also save the GMAPSUPP.img file inside the [SD CARD\MAP] folder and use ANY Name (as long as its abt 8-characters and ends with .img. Example; thailand.img, mexico.img, austrlia.img, samerica.img). I forgot whether longer file name can or not. I usually go for 8-char limit to be safe.

I had saved the file gmapsupp.img into the SDcard\Map folder, when i used the Garmin, the map cannot show in the check list.

if not... read this forum thread from start page-1 all over again :)


vikmel99,

Create a directory name map in your storage card. When you do dir on your storage card you will see a map folder. Then you copy the img file inside the map folder.[/quote]

Hi atomic,

i manage to see my map in GARMIN folder (sdcard\Garmin) after i unlock the map.

Now i want to put in more then one map in Garmin folder, i had rename it to gmapsupp1.img or gmapsup1.img. but i cannot see the map i add in..., any solution?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Nuvifon A10
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 10
vikmel99 wrote:
atomic wrote:
vikmel99 wrote:
@vikmel
Just to confirm
- Did u download & install the .EXE/.ZIP file with no problem? either way; re-download a fresh file just in case there's a possible corruption with the file you downloaded

Yes, all file i download is xxxxx.zip

- Did u extract the gmapsupp.img file from the ZIP or did u just rename the .ZIP file to gmapsupp.img instead? Because if u just rename from the ZIP file instead of extract the IMG file from the ZIP file then you hve problems.

Yes, i extract the file and named gmapsupp.img

- You can also save the GMAPSUPP.img file inside the [SD CARD\MAP] folder and use ANY Name (as long as its abt 8-characters and ends with .img. Example; thailand.img, mexico.img, austrlia.img, samerica.img). I forgot whether longer file name can or not. I usually go for 8-char limit to be safe.

I had saved the file gmapsupp.img into the SDcard\Map folder, when i used the Garmin, the map cannot show in the check list.

if not... read this forum thread from start page-1 all over again :)


vikmel99,

Create a directory name map in your storage card. When you do dir on your storage card you will see a map folder. Then you copy the img file inside the map folder.


Hi atomic,

i manage to see my map in GARMIN folder (sdcard\Garmin) after i unlock the map.

Now i want to put in more then one map in Garmin folder, i had rename it to gmapsupp1.img or gmapsup1.img. but i cannot see the map i add in..., any solution?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group